top of page

A story in the making....

So I am out going door-to-door when the newspaper guy calls and says, "I have a story in the making...."

I hear him out.

It's a story about events that are 15 years or older.

As L.P. Hartley wrote, "The past is a foreign country. They do things differently there."

The reporter guy, says, "Tell me about what happened to you in Oregon in 1999."

The election is near and I shouldn't be surprised that my opponents are attacking. Tomorrow the Statesman will run a story about a couple of the tough times during my service as Superintendent in Oregon where, among other achievements, I was honored to be named Superintendent of the Year.

Like anyone with a great deal of experience I've made mistakes, but I learned and grew from those professional challenges and believe that they are a part of the richness of experience that will serve our community well with my election to the School Board. Thanks for all the support and don't forget to vote May 19th.

I told him the reporter that those events made me a better educator and person. I said that I use these situations in my teaching and preparing of future principals and superintendents.

I had 15 years of success in Oregon before retiring and taking my University of Idaho professorship.

In 1999, I was still recovering from back surgery. In a moment when I was not in "top form", I said some things to my assistant superintendent. She responded with a harassment complaint.

The opposition also learned that I had not fired two young teachers who had attended a party with students and other adults.

The police had investigated the party and met with the Police Chief. He concluded no charges would be filed. I then met with the teachers and their representatives and decided to discipline them in-house. Later, the Oregon Standards Commission learned about it and told me I should have reported them to the Commission. As a result, the Commission reprimanded me for not reporting it to them. However, they did not pursue any action on the teachers.

You know who I am and what I stand for. I am staying in the race!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page